Sakizou Mermaid

I love the artist Sakizou and she has far too many costumes that I wanted to choose from however when I came across this one  I had an instant vision on how I wanted to go about constructing this. I just love the colors plus I have been wanting to do a mermaid inspired costume for some time now.

sakizo cosplay

As I said in my earlier post, I am trying to buy as little as possible for this costume and use things I already have. I find it makes things not only challenging but opens my mind up to new methods and ideas. It forces myself to be more creative and resourceful. So far I lucked out and haven’t bought a thing.Also as stated, this costume is not going to be accurate to the picture. I am doing my own interpretation of it so there are  things that  may be slightly altered.

For the neck, arm  and belt piece, I found  some old brown faux leather that I had used for a past steampunk costume and painted it purple.  I hand painted all the trim gold as well. For the waist buckle thing (not sure what to call it) I simply used eva foam  covered in multiple layers of polyurethane (so that the paint would slide on nicely) and layered pieces to make it dimensional. I then added some lace which I cut out and painted gold. I then  found an old piece of  costume jewelry and added it to the center.  I used rub n buff (which is one of my favorite products to use) for the costume jewelry  b/c it was silver and then painted the center pink.

sakizou mermaid wipIMG_7176

My favorite part so far is the neckpiece. I was going to buy some fishing net to use however I got lucky and came across an old purple shirt that seemed perfect. I cut out the desired shape and then painted it gold (yes lots of painting going on in this costume). Then I just simply added some jewels on it and attached it to the choker.

IMG_7164 IMG_7158

wip costume

I am now starting to brainstorm the headpiece (I love headpieces by the way) which I have begun by putting brown beads  on numerous pieces of cut wire. As with the rest of the costume, I used gold rub n buff to change the color. This is all I have so far but hope to have some more progress very soon. As for now I must get back to my little world of dolls. For those of you who don’t know…I am also a doll maker. If you are interested feel free to check out my work here.

Leave a Reply

